Movatterモバイル変換


[0]ホーム

URL:


Showing posts with labelJim Wolf.Show all posts
Showing posts with labelJim Wolf.Show all posts

Friday, August 9, 2024

MLB Ejection 144 - Jim Wolf (2; Stephen Vogt)

HP Umpire Jim Wolf ejected Guardians manager Stephen Vogt (balk call on Tim Herrin; QOCN) in the top of the 7th inning of the #Guardians-#Twins game. With two out and one on, HP Umpire Wolf called Guardians pitcher Herrin for a balk during Twins batter Jose Miranda's plate appearance, scoring baserunner R3 Christian Vázquez on the ensuing base award. Replays indicate that although Herrin did indeed start and stop his motion, batter Miranda also infracted by starting to step out of the batter's box, the rule for which states that since a batter cannot cause a balk, the play should be started over from scratch, the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the Twins were leading, 6-3. Twins ultimately won the contest, 6-3.

This is Jim Wolf (28)'s 2nd ejection of 2024.
Official Baseball Rule 5.04(b)(2) Comment: "If after the pitcher starts their windup or comes to a 'set position' with a runner on, they do not go through with their pitch because the batter has inadvertently caused the pitcher to interrupt their delivery, it shall not be called a balk. Both the pitcher and batter have violated a rule and the umpire shall call time and both the batter and pitcher start over from 'scratch.'"
OBR 6.02(a)(1): "If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when the pitcher, while touching their plate, makes any motion naturally associated with their pitch and fails to make such delivery."

This is the 144th ejection report of the 2024 MLB regular season.
This is the 73rd manager ejection of 2024. Ejection Tally: 73 Managers, 22 Coaches, 49 Players.
This is Cleveland's 2nd ejection of 2024, T-2nd in the AL Central (CWS 8;CLE, KC, MIN2; DET 0).
This is Stephen Vogt's first career MLB ejection.
This is Jim Wolf's 2nd ejection of 2024, 1st sinceJune 28 (Joe Espada; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Friday, June 28, 2024

MLB Ejection 101 - Jim Wolf (1; Joe Espada)

HP Umpire Jim Wolf ejected Astros manager Joe Espada (strike three call to Jake Meyers; QOCY) in the top of the 7th inning of the #Astros-#Mets game. With one out and two on, Astros batter Meyers took a 1-2 slider from Mets pitcher Dedniel Núñez for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and at the hollow of the knee (px 0.41, pz 1.48 [sz_bot 1.50 / RAD 1.38]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Mets were leading, 6-2. The Mets ultimately won the contest, 7-2.

This is Jim Wolf (28)'s 1st ejection of 2024.
*This pitch was located 2.16 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 101st ejection of the 2024 MLB regular season.
This is the 51st manager ejection of 2024. Ejection Tally: 51 Managers, 14 Coaches, 36 Players.
This is Houston's 5th ejection of 2024, 3rd in the AL West (OAK, SEA 6;HOU 5; TEX 4; LAA 1).
This is Joe Espada's 3rd ejection of 2024, 1st sinceJune 18 (Derek Thomas; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Jim Wolf's 1st ejection sinceJune 18, 2023 (Bob Melvin; QOC = U [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Houston Asstros vs New York Mets, 6/28/24 | Video as follows:

Sunday, June 18, 2023

MLB Ejection 106 - Jim Wolf (1; Bob Melvin)

3B Umpire Jim Wolf ejected Padres manager Bob Melvin (check swing ball four call) in the top of the 7th inning of the #Rays-#Padres game. With two out and one on, Rays batter Wander Franco attempted to check his swing on a 3-2 sweeper from Padres pitcher Steven Wilson, ruled ball four by HP Umpire Mike Muchlinski and affirmed as no swing on appeal by 3B Umpire Wolf. At the time of the ejection, the Padres were leading, 5-2. The Padres ultimately won the contest, 5-4.

This is Jim Wolf (28)'s 1st ejection of 2023.

This is the 106th ejection report of the 2023 MLB regular season.
This is the 51st manager ejection of 2023.Ejection Tally: 51 Managers, 44 Players, 11 Coaches.
This is San Diego's 3rd ejection of 2023, T-3rd in the NL West (ARI 7; COL 4; LAD,SD 3; SF 0).
This is Bob Melvin's 2nd ejection of 2023, 1st sinceMay 11 (Brock Ballou; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Saturday, April 15, 2023

Former Dodger Cody Bellinger Dinged for Pitch Clock Violation During Standing Ovation Tribute in LA Return

Longtime Dodgers outfielder and current Cubs center fielder Cody Bellinger received a video tribute and standing ovation when he returned to Los Angeles, but found himself called for a pitch clock violation by HP Umpire Jim Wolf when he failed to be alert to the pitcher at 8 seconds, because he was acknowledging the fans that were applauding him in his first plate appearance at Dodger Stadium since leaving the team.

MLB's pitch clock rules state that batters must be in the batter's box and alert to the pitcher at the eight-second mark of the countdown timer, while pitchers must begin their delivery or disengage prior to the expiration of time. Bellinger wasn't yet alert to Dodgers pitcher Noah Syndergaard at the eight-second mark, and HP Umpire Wolf thus called him for a violation of the batter's pitch clock requirement. No matter for Chicago, which nonetheless won the game, defeating the Dodgers 8-2.

Since baseball revises and tweaks its rules in response to events that may occur during gameplay (e.g., the so-called Max Scherzer rule instituted in Spring Training declaring that a pitcher may not come set prior to the batter becoming alert in the box), will the extenuating circumstance of a player simply acknowledging a crowd giving them a standing ovation on their first at-bat since returning to a former team's city qualify as an event that causes the sport to add an exemption to the pitch clock rule?

Only time will tell | Video as follows:

Saturday, September 11, 2021

Retaliatory Obstruction? Collision Follows TOR-BAL Spat

When Orioles pitcher Fernando Abad's right forearm connected with Blue Jays baserunner Lourdes Gurriel's left shoulder, HP Umpire Jim Wolf and 3B Umpire Shane Livensparger immediately identified obstruction, but was there more to this potentially malicious contact?

With one out and Gurriel on second base for Toronto, Blue Jays batter Randal Grichuk hit a ground ball to Orioles third baseman Jahmai Jones, who threw wildly past third base in an attempt to retire Gurriel, leading to a collision between Abad and Gurriel as the Jays' runner ran toward home plate.

Umpires pointed to the defense's hindrance of the runner in ruling obstruction (type 2, as no play was being made on the runner at the precise moment of obstruction ["If no play is being made on the obstructed runner, the play shall proceed until no further action is possible. The umpire shall then call “Time” and impose such penalties, if any, as in his judgment will nullify the act of obstruction." OBR 6.01(h)(2)) and allowed play to conclude with Gurriel scoring and batter-runner Grichuk making it to third base.

At lower levels of play, Abad's potentially intentional initiation of a collision with Gurriel may have necessitated further penalties. For instance, high school's NFHS Rule 3-3-1 pertains to malicious contact, and states, "If the defense commits the malicious contact, the player is ejected." College is a bit murkier, as its flagrant collision rule (NCAA 2-31) identifies a collision "in which the runner maliciously attempts to dislodge the ball," but common sense could easily help.

MLB/professional baseball has no such rules, however. In other words, this is obstruction (type 2 or B) at all levels, but not malicious in pro ball because OBR does not have such a rule.

Nonetheless, could this apparently unsportsmanlike action have developed from a dispute earlier in the contest? Several innings earlier, Baltimore manager Brandon Hyde yelled at Toronto pitcher Robbie Ray.

Once again, OBR is more permissive than lower levels, such as NCAA's Coaching Ethics, which states, in part, "'Bench jockeying' will not be allowed." So while it may be appropriate—and in some cases absolutely necessary—for an umpire to address this unsporting behavior early on in order to prevent further complications at the NFHS or NCAA level, MLB appears to have largely taken a "let them fight, it's better for ratings" point of view.

Video as follows:

Saturday, August 21, 2021

MLB Ejection 147 - Jim Wolf (2; Eric Duncan)

HP Umpire Jim Wolf ejected Marlins hitting coach Eric Duncan (strike two call; QOCY) in the top of the 5th inning of the #Marlins-#Reds game. With two out and two on (R2, R3), Marlins batter Miguel Rojas took a 3-1 changeup from Reds pitcher Wade Miley for a called second strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and above the hollow of the knee (px -0.00, pz 1.62 [sz_bot 1.53 / RAD 1.41 / MOE 1.32]), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Reds were leading, 2-0. The Reds ultimately won the contest, 7-4.

This is Jim Wolf (28)'s 2nd ejection of 2021.
Jim Wolf now has 9 points in the UEFL Standings (5 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 9).
Crew Chief Jim Wolf now has 2 points in Crew Division (1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 2).
*This pitch was located 3.56 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 147th ejection report of the 2021 MLB regular season.
This is Miami's 8th ejection of 2021, T-1st in the NL East (MIA, PHI8; NYM 7; WAS 3; ATL 0).
This is Eric Duncan's 2nd ejection of 2021, 1st sinceMay 15 (Chad Fairchild; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Jim Wolf's 2nd ejection of 2021, 1st sinceJune 18 (Christian Arroyo; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap:Miami Marlins vs. Cincinnati Reds, 8/21/21 | Video as follows:

Friday, June 18, 2021

MLB Ejection 075 - Jim Wolf (1; Christian Arroyo)

HP Umpire Jim Wolf ejected Red Sox 2B Christian Arroyo (strike three call; QOCY) in the top of the 9th inning of the #RedSox-#Royals game. With one out and none on, Arroyo took a 1-2 fastball from Royals pitcher Greg Holland for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the inner edge of home plate and at the waist (px -0.75, pz 3.02 [sz_top 3.41]), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Royals were leading, 5-3. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 5-3.


This is Jim Wolf (28)'s 1st ejection of 2021.
Jim Wolf now has 5 points in the UEFL Standings (1 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 5).
Crew Chief Sam Holbrook now has 4 points in Crew Division (3 Previous + 1 QOCY = 4).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
This pitch was located 1.97 horizontal inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

This is the 75th ejection of 2021.
This is the 26th player ejection of 2021. Prior to ejection, Arroyo was 1-5 (3 SO) in the contest.
This is Boston's 3rd ejection of 2021, 2nd in the AL East (NYY 5; BOS 3; BAL 2; TOR 1; TB 0).
This is Christian Arroyo's first career MLB ejection.

Sunday, August 2, 2020

Down But Not Out - Jim Wolf Sticks with Play & Makes Safe Call After Being Knocked to Ground (Injury Scout)

3B Umpire Jim Wolf was knocked over during a rundown in San Francisco Saturday, but stuck with the play to make a safe call from the ground as the Texas Rangers opened up scoring vs the Giants at Oracle Park, reportedly suffering a concussion discovered after the game.

Eye on the ball is a common refrain for umpires embodied in Official Baseball Rule 8.00 [General Instructions to Umpires]—"Keep your eye everlastingly on the ball while it is in play"—and Wolf proved his dedication to that directive in the top of the 1st inning when Rangers baserunner Elvis Andrus dove back into third base.

With two out and runners at the corners, Giants pitcher Drew Smyly attempted to pick off Texas' trailing baserunner R1 Joey Gallo at first base, throwing to first baseman Brandon Belt, who chased Gallo toward second base before throwing to second baseman Donovan Solano, at which time Rangers baserunner R3 Andrus started toward home plate.

Wolf focuses on the play at third.
Solano then threw to third baseman Evan Longoria to trap Andrus in a rundown, and threw to catcher Tyler Heineman, who ran Andrus back to third base before throwing to Solano, who attempted to tag Andrus as he slid into third base.

Wolf, intently focused on the play at the bag, didn't have a chance to see—much less avoid—Heineman, who crashed directly into Wolf, knocking the veteran umpire to the ground as both clubs gestured for a ruling.

Now on the ground, Wolf, from his back, spread his arms and said "safe" (the correct call) before retrieving his hat and glasses as he stood up and returned to his position on the left field foul line, smiling as crew chief Jim Reynolds journeyed over from second base to check on him. The Rangers scored two runs on the very next pitch.

Wolfreportedly suffered a concussion as a result of the incident.

Injury Scout Information
Relevant Injury History: Wolf had head injuries on 5/31/19, 9/11/15, and 6/9/14.

Last Game: Aug 1 |Return to Play: 2021 |Time Absent: Rest of Season | Video as follows:

Monday, November 11, 2019

2019 UEFL Award for Umpire of the Year - Jim Wolf

Jim Wolf is the UEFL's (Best) Umpire of the Year for 2019 [2018:Ted Barrett].
Voting (Top 5): Wolf (18.3%), Eric Cooper (17.7%), Sam Holbrook (12.8%), Barrett (8.5%), Al Porter (5.5%).

Jim Wolf wins the UEFL Umpire of the Year Award for 2019. Having officiated his first Major League game in 1999, Wolf celebrates two decades in the big leagues, and six consecutive postseasons (2014-19). Wolf's second career World Series in 2019 capped a year that reportedly saw him ranked first amongst all MLB umpires behind home plate.

He finished the season with zero ejections (his second consecutive season with no ejections) and one no-hitter (Houston's combined no-hitter against Seattle on August 6). WroteTurducken, succinctly, "You get a game 7 WS, you're the best."

UEFL Awards History, Jim Wolf
Noteworthy Umpire of the Year:2011

Jim Wolf now has 12 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (7 Previous + 5 Award = 12).
Final Standings will be released this week.

Tuesday, August 6, 2019

2019 No-Hitter 3, Jim Wolf (2; HOU [Combo])

HP Umpire Jim Wolf called Astros pitchers Aaron Sanchez, Will Harris, Joe Biagini, and Chris Devenski's combined no-hitter against the Mariners, the second consecutive no-no against Seattle.

Wolf's crewmates for Saturday's game at Minute Maid Park included 1B Umpire Nick Mahrley, 2B Umpire Cory Blaser, and 3B Umpire/Crew Chief Jeff Nelson.

This is Wolf's second career no-hitter and the third overall no-hit game of the 2019 season. Wolf previously officiated Dallas Braden's perfect game on May 9, 2010.
Related Post:2019 No-Hitter 1, Mark Ripperger (1; Mike Fiers) (5/7/19).
Related Post2019 No-Hitter 2, Paul Nauert (1; LAA [Tyler Skaggs x2]) (7/12/19).

Wolf received 86 callable pitches from Houston pitching, 58 balls and 28 called strikes. The look:

Balls: 58 called balls outside of strike zone / 0 called balls within strike zone = 58/58 = 100.0% Accuracy.
Strikes: 26 called strikes inside strike zone / 2 called strikes outside strike zone = 26/28 = 92.9% Accuracy.
Total Raw Accuracy Score for HOU = 84/86 = 97.7% Accuracy (+2 HOU).
Overall Game Score: 119/120 Balls + 57/59 Strikes = 176/179 = 98.3%.+2 HOU.

Friday, June 14, 2019

Injury Scout - Jim Wolf's Early Exit in Detroit

3B Umpire Jim Wolf departed Friday's Indians-Tigers game in Detroit during the first inning for an undisclosed reason.

Wolf exited the field between the top and bottom of the 1st, shaking hands with Tigers 3B Coach Dave Clark as a quick hi-bye while walking off the field. FOX Sports Detroit broadcasters Matt Shepard and Kirk Gibson noted that Wolf appeared to walk with a limp on his way off the field.

2B Umpire Sam Holbrook shifted to the third base position in Wolf's absence, with 1B Umpire Manny Gonzalez and HP Umpire Dan Iassogna remaining in their original spots to round out the three-umpire crew.

Relevant Injury History: None, although Wolf left a game on May 31, 2019 after a hit to the head.
Related PostInjury Scout - Jim Wolf Leaves in Arizona (5/31/19).

Last Game: June 14 |Return to Play: June 25 |Time Absent: 10 Days | Video as follows:

Friday, May 31, 2019

Injury Scout - Jim Wolf Leaves in Arizona

HP Umpire Jim Wolf left Friday's Mets-Diamondbacks game in Arizona after a deflected foul ball knocked off his mask.

With none out and two on in the top of the 2nd inning, Mets batter Todd Frazier fouled an 84.6-mph 0-1 slider from Diamondbacks pitcher Jon Duplantier off of catcher Alex Avila's mask, deflecting into the lower jaw portion of Wolf's traditional-style facemask.

1B Umpire Manny Gonzalez took over for Wolf behind home plate, with 2B Umpire Dan Iassogna sliding over to first base and 3B Umpire and Crew Chief Sam Holbrook rounding out the three-umpire crew.

Relevant Injury History: Wolf last left a game due to a head injury in September 2015, when he left the 9/11/15 Dodgers-Diamondbacks game, also in Arizona, after a foul ball deflected onto his facemask.
Related PostJim Wolf Leaves LAD-ARI After Foul Ball to Face (9/11/15).

Prior to that, Wolf left a June 2014 Indians-Rangers game in Texas after a similar head injury.
Related PostInjury: Jim Wolf Takes Foul Ball to Mask, Marquez Debuts (6/10/14).

Last Game: May 31 |Return to Play: June 1 |Time Absent: Rest of Day | Video as follows:

Friday, September 14, 2018

Case Play 2018-8 - Kick a Ball, Make a Call [Solved]

Boston clinched a playoff berth Tuesday night following an unusual play in the 6th inning with Toronto at bat, when the home plate umpire inadvertently kicked a wild pitch with a runner at third, calling "Time" and sending the Blue Jays baserunners back to their bases of origin.

HP Umpire Jim Wolf searches for a wild pitch.
What is the proper call for an umpire's kicked ball?

The Play: With one out and one on (R3), Red Sox pitcher Nathan Eovaldi's 3-0 pitch to Jays batter Kendrys Morales dove into the dirt and near HP Umpire Jim Wolf, who inadvertently kicked the ball far away from Red Sox catcher Sandy Leon, prompting Blue Jays baserunner R3 Devon Travis to jog toward home plate. Wolf called "Time" and sent Travis back to third (and awarded Morales first base on ball four).

Question: Is this the correct call and were the runners placed properly (R3 Travis sent back to third and batter-runner Morales to first)? If so, is this umpire interference or does some other rule apply?

Answer: The first thing one should notice about the umpire interference rules as portrayed in 5.06(c)(2), 6.01(f), and the Definition of Terms is that Umpire Interference exists under only two scenarios: 1) The plate umpire hinders the catcher'sthrow (to a base/runner or back to the pitcher), and, 2) afair[batted]ball touches an umpire on fair territory before passing a fielder other than the pitcher, or before touching any other player.
Related VideoUEFL University: Umpire's Interference - Reviewing its Two Types (4/23/18).
Related PostStayin' Alive - The Umpire-Aided Triple Play (4/23/18).
Related PostRules 2.00 & 6.01(f): Umpire Interference (7/5/12).

Joe West kicks a ball into left field.
Accordingly, this play is not subject to any of the aforementioned rules. Yet during this play, clearly, baserunner R3 has absolutely zero intention of scoringuntil the plate umpire kicks the ball. What's the resolution?

Look no further than to Joe West for an example of another kicked ball—this one batted past the infield—that led to an extra base when a batter-runner had no intention of advancing beyond first until 2B Umpire West kicked the ball into shallow left field. Like Wolf, West put a new impetus on the ball by accidentally kicking it away from the fielders (or, more accurately, away from the charging outfielders), but unlike Wolf, West kept play alive because he kicked the ball after it had passed the infielders.
Related PostA Rare Off-The-Cowboy-Joe Double - Rule 5.06(c)(6) (8/24/16).

Counterpoint: How aboutUnintentional Interference, Rule 6.01(d) Comment, which states, "The question of intentional or unintentional interference shall be decided on the basis of the person’s action. For example: a bat boy, ball attendant, policeman, etc., who tries to avoid being touched by a thrown or batted ball but still is touched by the ball would be involved in unintentional interference. If, however, he kicks the ball or picks it up or pushes it, that is considered intentional interference, regardless of what his thought may have been"?

Or how about the MLBUM interpretation of 5.06(b) (ball goes out of play) that differentiates between a fielderdeflecting the ball directly out of play, a fielderaccidentally kicking the ball out of play, and a fielderintentionally kicking or deflecting the ball out of play?

Is there a way to incorporate 6.01(d) Comment or the MLBUM interpretation of 5.06(b) by using Rule 8.01(c)—umpiring's elastic clause ("Each umpire has authority to rule on any point not specifically covered in these rules")—to invoke common sense and fair play?
Related PostUEFL Case Play 2018-6 - Kicked Out of Play [Solved] (7/23/18).
Related PostMLB Ejection 057 - Fieldin Culbreth (1; Terry Collins) (6/1/17).

The answer, it turns out, is "no." 6.01(d)does specifically cover the application of unintentional interference by exempting the following classes of persons from its purview: "except members of the team at bat who are participating in the game, or a base coach, any of whom interfere with a fielder attempting to field a batted or thrown ball;or an umpire." [Underlined-bold text added for emphasis.]

Similarly, 5.06(b) very clearly talks aboutfielders, not umpires.

As 5.06(c)(2), 6.01(f), and Definition of Terms clearly illustrate where precisely umpire interference occurs, it is not within the rules nor within the spirit of the rules to use 8.01(c) to apply discretion to the aforementioned.

This is not umpire interference, the ball shall remain alive, and the runner, unfortunately (for the team that threw the wild pitch, that is), shall be permitted to score. The rules simply don't allow the umpires to correct for a situation caused, initially, by a defensive miscue to begin with. Whether one believes this is fair play or not is, ultimately, irrelevant: the rulebook allows little discretion for choosingwhen umpire interference does and does not apply.

Silver Lining? Wolf so confidently sold the call from the get-go that there was very little doubt as to what it was and why he made it. Unfortunately, it just wasn't supported by any concrete rule.

The ump giveth and the ump taketh away.
Common Sense and Fair Play: Ruling this play dead and sending the runner back to third base because he had no intention of scoring prior to the umpire's accidental kick might scream out, "that's fair," but it could get you into trouble with a manager who knows the rules real quick.

If Toronto protested the game based on this call (and lost by a reasonable margin, etc.), it stands to reason that the protest would be affirmed based on the rules that dictate this accidental kick by an umpire is not means to call the ball dead and return the runner.

That said, if the explanation was, simply, "I accidentally called time" (which, I don't believe it was...it sure looked like "Time" was purposefully called), it becomes a matter not subject to protest. But knowingly ruling this umpire interference based on the kick is not supported by the rules.

Now if someone could help me out with determining whether Enrico Pallazzo's ejection of Joe West and Hank Robinson had anything to do with umpire interference or not, I'd be much obliged.
Related VideoSEA@LAA: Enrico Pallazzo Ejects Umpires Robinson, Cowboy Joe West (4/1/13).
Related PostEjections 1, 2: Enrico Pallazzo (Joe West, Hank Robinson) (4/1/13).

Official Baseball Rules Library
OBR 5.06(c)(2): "The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when—The plate umpire interferes with the catcher’s throw attempting to prevent a stolen base or retire a runner on a pick-off play; runners may not advance."
OBR 5.06(c)(2) Comment: "Umpire interference may also occur when an umpire interferes with a catcher returning the ball to the pitcher."
OBR 6.01(f): "If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play."
OBR 6.01(f) Comment: "Umpire’s interference occurs (1) when a plate umpire hinders, impedes or prevents a catcher’s throw attempting to prevent a stolen base or retire a runner on a pick-off play; or (2) when a fair ball touches an umpire on fair territory before passing a fielder. Umpire interference may also occur when an umpire interferes with a catcher returning the ball to the pitcher."

Video as follows:

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Replay Rewind - Double Out Whammy Costs Braves

In this edition of Replay Rewind, we visit Atlanta, where the visiting Cubs topped the Braves 3-2 following a 5th inning upheld review immediately followed by a missed out call that manager Brian Snitker couldn't challenge (having lost the preceding video effort), causing Chip Caray and Joe Simpson to chide, "That is absolutely horrible."

F1 Montgomery tries to tag out R3 Camargo.
The First Play: With one out and two on (R1, R3) in the bottom of the 5th inning of Tuesday's Cubs-Braves game, Cubs pitcher Mike Montgomery pitch eluded catcher Willson Contreras, who threw to Montgomery, covering home, as baserunner R3 Johan Camargo attempted to score, originally ruled out by HP Umpire Jim Wolf.

Replay Review: Upon Manager's Challenge by Atlanta's Snitker, the Replay Official determined that evidence was not clear and convincing as to determine whether the runner was safe or out; as such, Wolf's on-field ruling stood and Snitker's challenge was unsuccessful, resulting in his loss of the Manager's Challenge.

Culberson attempts to take third.
The Second Play: Nary two pitches later, Montgomery threw another pitch in the dirt that Contreras blocked as baserunner R2 Charlie Culberson (having moved up to second base during the play in which Camargo was thrown out at home) attempted to advance to third base as Contreras recovered and threw to third baseman Kris Bryant, ruled out by 3B Umpire Sam Holbrook.

No Replay: Although replays indicate baserunner Culberson appeared to have conclusively arrived at third base prior to Bryant's tag, Snitker, by virtue of having lost his Manager's Challenge on the preceding play, was unable to have the play looked at (a Crew Chief Review would be unavailable for the next two+ innings).

Wolf takes a position to best see a tag & touch.
Analysis, First Play: HP Umpire Wolf takes a position along the third baseline extended as he lines up the two anticipated points of contact that will prove most important for this play: Wolf must judge whether Montgomery's tag of Camargo came before or after Camargo's left hand touched home plate. As is said, there are no ties (statistically, ties can exist but are extremely improbable; hence, there are no ties).

Wolf determines the pitcher tagged the runner before the runner touched home plate. Snitker filed a challenge, so from this point on, it becomes a matter for Replay Review.

The telecast provides several angles that prompt several questions that the Replay Official must answer:
1) Where did the pitcher tag the runner? Helmet? Shoulder (because he missed the helmet)? Leg?
2) Where did the runner touch home plate? Parallel edge? Left side (because his hand was raised)?
3) When did the fielder's tag of the runner occur in relation to the runner's touch of home plate?

Angle 1, High 1B Dugout (Fielder): It is inconclusive whether the fielder tagged the runner's helmet.
Angle 1, High 1B Dugout (Runner): It is inconclusive where the runner touched home (B1 blocking).

Angle 2, CF Camera (F1): Angle suggests first tag was on the shoulder—it is clear and convincing?
Angle 2, CF Camera (R3): Angle suggests hand is in the air on initial approach, but F1 is blocking.

Angle 3, Press Box (F1): Angle suggests glove bends after helmet attempt when hand is on shoulder.
Angle 3, Press Box (R3): Angle suggests hand touches plate on or near edge, but is similarly unclear.

Conclusion, Replay Review: There are two moving parts here—the fielder's tag and the runner's touch—though the fielder's tag will determine the result of this review. If the fielder tagged the runner's helmet, the runner is out. If the fielder did not tag the runner's helmet, the runner is likely safe. From the angles provided, it is unclear whether the fielder tagged the runner's helmet.For this reason, the call must stand.

Had the standard for Replay Review been to make the call "from scratch" (e.g., call "out" or "safe" from Replay HQ without regard to the call on the field), I'd surmisethe runner would be deemed safe.

Annotation of where U3 and the ball will go.
Analysis, Second Play: 3B Umpire Holbrook must rule on this play similarly to a stolen base attempt at third base. The problem for any third base umpire, naturally, is that the umpire must call a tag on the front side of the base frombehind the play. In order to get an optimal angle here, the umpire must quickly move into position. If the umpire is unable to see over top of the play, he must attempt to see through it, which is oftentimes a losing proposition.

By the time the catcher's throw arrives at third, the umpire should ideally be set or nearly set to observe the play and adjust if necessary. From the replay of Culberson's attempted advancement, it appears Holbrook is a tick tardy to his desired calling position, which means his eyes are vertically moving as the tag is being applied. Because the umpire appears to be continuing to close down as the play is concluding, the head height—and therefore the "look"—isn't constant, which makes this tough call even tougher to call. In the end,the runner should be safe, but he is declared out.

Wegner's tossed Lou over a similar play at 3B.
Compare and Contrast: Consider this similar passed ball/wild pitch-turned-putout from June 2007 in Chicago, when 3B Umpire Mark Wegner ejected Lou Piniella for the first time in Lou's Cubs managerial career. It's a very similar play, with a similar tag attempt, but look at the umpire's positioning, relative to that from Cubs-Braves.

In Chicago, Wegner puts himself much closer to the play at a much earlier stage of the play so that he only must make minor position adjustments as the ball and baserunner arrive at the base. In the end, Wegner gets the call right and has a hat-slinging, dirt-kicking Piniella to thank for his efforts.
Related Video:Wegner calls the out on play at third base...Here's Lou (CHC)

Because Snitker lost his challenge due to the previous close play, Tuesday's out call at third base—which would otherwise have easily been overturned via replay—wasn't subject to review.

History: In expanded Replay Review's first week of existence (April 2014), the San Francisco Giants lost a challenge on a 4th inning pickoff play at first base, such that an incorrect safe call at home plate later in the inning that Bruce Bochy would have otherwise challenged was not subject to review.
Related Video:Giants are unable to challenge play at the plate after losing an earlier review (ARI)

Video as follows:

Friday, June 23, 2017

MLB Ejection 073-074 - Jim Wolf (1-2; Anderson, Renteria)

HP Umpire Jim Wolf ejected White Sox SS Tim Anderson and Manager Rick Renteria (fair ball call) in the bottom of the 5th inning of the Athletics-White Sox game. With one out and none on, batter Anderson hit a 1-1 slider from A's pitcher Jharel Cotton into the ground in front of home plate, where it was fielded on a bounce by catcher Bruce Maxwell, ruled a fair ball by Wolf. Replays indicate Maxwell first touched the batted ball as it was over the foul line, in fair territory and that the ball did not strike Anderson's helmet nor his bat a second time, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the A's were leading, 3-0. The A's ultimately won the contest, 3-0.

This is Jim Wolf (28)'s first, second ejection of the 2017 MLB regular season.
Jim Wolf now has 8 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Previous + 2*[2 MLB + 2 Correct Call] = 8).
Crew Chief Sam Holbrook now has 6 points in Crew Division (5 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 6).

This is the 73rd, 74th ejection report of 2017.
This is the 30th player ejection of 2017. Prior to ejection, Anderson was 0-2 in the contest.
This is the 39th Manager ejection of 2017.
This is Chicago-AL's 5/6th ejection of 2017, 1st in the AL Central (CWS 6; DET, KC, MIN 2; CLE 0).
This is Tim Anderson's first career MLB ejection.
This isRick Renteria's 3rd ejection of 2017, 1st sinceJune 15 (Paul Emmel; QOC = Y [Check Swing]).
This isJim Wolf's first ejection sinceAugust 2, 2015 (DeMarlo Hale; QOC = U [Throwing At]).

Wrap: Oakland Athletics vs. Chicago White Sox, 6/23/17 | Video via "Read More"

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Injury Scout - Jeff Nelson Exits, Wolf Collides with Player

Jim Wolf collided with a player while plate umpire Jeff Nelson exited Tuesday's Spring Training action for an undisclosed reason.

D-Backs 2B Leyba calls obstruction on Wolf
During the Rangers-Diamondbacks game at Talking Stick's Salt River Fields, base umpire Jim Wolf collided with Rangers baserunner Cesar Puello as he rounded second base, causing Puello to fall down and, ultimately, be retired. With none out and one on (R1 Puello) in the top of the 6th inning, Rangers batter Jose Trevino hit a fly ball to Diamondbacks left fielder Kristopher Negron, that Negron lost in the sun/sky. After Puello and Wolf collided past second base, the D-Backs fielders recovered to retire Puello in an ensuing rundown.

As we know and Arizona broadcaster Steve Berthiaume remarked, "the umpire is in play." Rule 6.01(f) concerns umpire interference and states that such an event occurs only "(1) when a plate umpire hinders, impedes or prevents a catcher’s throw attempting to prevent a stolen base or retire a runner on a pick-off play; or (2) when a fair ball touches an umpire on fair territory before passing a fielder. Umpire interference may also occur when an umpire interferes with a catcher returning the ball to the pitcher." Accordingly, a player making incidental or inadvertent contact with an umpire (other than a catcher attempting to throw out a baserunner) does not constitute umpire interference.Alan Porter ejected Pirates Manager Clint Hurdle in 2016 during an argument concerning such an umpire-fielder entanglement.

For more on umpire interference, including video examples, see the UEFL topic, "Umpire Interference."

Both Wolf and Puello remained in the ballgame following their fender bender and video of this play is available at the conclusion of this post, via "Read more."

Meanwhile, HP Umpire Jeff Nelson left Tuesday's White Sox-Mariners game in the middle of the 4th inning for an undisclosed reason; he officiated the entire top of the 4th before leaving the field following the frame's third out.

This is Nelson's first departure from a game since leaving theMay 23, 2016 Rockies-Pirates game after dirt lodged his eyes.

Nelson was replaced behind home plate by 3B Umpire Mike Cascioppo, while base umpires Adrian Johnson (1B) and Stu Scheurwater (2B => 3B) took care of field duties for the rest of the contest.

Last Game: March 14, 2017 |Return to Play: March 17, 2017 |Total Time Absent: 2 Days

Friday, September 11, 2015

Jim Wolf Leaves LAD-ARI After Foul Ball to Face

HP Umpire Jim Wolf left Friday's Dodgers-Diamondbacks game after a foul ball deflected onto his facemask. In the bottom of the 2nd inning, D-Backs batter Nick Ahmed fouled a first-pitch 97-mph fastball from Dodgers pitcher Pedro Baez back onto the right side of Wolf's facemask, knocking the traditional-style mask off Wolf's face and causing the veteran umpire to drop to his knees.

Wolf completed the bottom half of the inning (one additional batter) before departing the game. 1B Umpire Alan Porter took over behind the plate, with 2B Umpire Brian O'Nora sliding over to first base and 3B Umpire Mark Ripperger remaining on the left side of the infield. Later in the game, Arizona broadcast cameras showed Wolf in street attire speaking with Porter during the 6th inning intermission.

Wolfpreviously suffered a head injury after taking a foul ball to the facemask during a June 2014 game.

Video:Wolf is knocked to the ground by a fouled-off fastball to the face (ARI)

Sunday, August 2, 2015

MLB Ejections 143-145: Jim Wolf (1-3; TOR)

HP Umpire Jim Wolf ejected Blue Jays Manager John Gibbons for arguing an ejection no-call (Unsportsmanlike-NEC) in the bottom of the 7th and Blue Jays P Aaron Sanchez and Bench Coach DeMarlo Hale for throwing at Royals batter Alcides Escobar in the top of the 8th inning of the Royals-Blue Jays game. In the 7th, with one out and two on, Blue Jays batter Josh Donaldson took a 2-2 fastball from Royals pitcher Ryan Madson for a called third ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located high and inside and followed preceding batter Troy Tulowitzki's hit-by-pitch and earlier warnings issued, the call was irrecusable. In the 8th, with two out and none on, Royals batter Escobar took a 2-0 fastball from Blue Jays pitcher Sanchez for a hit-by-pitch. Replays indicate the pitch was located inside and hit Escobar in the lower leg, the call was irrecusable. At the time of Gibbons' ejection, the Blue Jays were leading, 2-0. At the time of the latter two ejections, the Blue Jays were leading, 3-0. The Blue Jays ultimately won the contest, 5-2.

These are Jim Wolf (28)'s first, second, and third ejections of 2015.
Jim Wolf now has 6 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Previous + 3*[2 MLB + 0 Irrecusable Call] = 6).
Crew Chief Angel Hernandez now has 5 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 3 Irrecusable Call = 5).

These are the 143rd, 144th, and 145th ejections of the 2015 MLB Regular Season.
This is the 66th Manager ejection of 2015.
This is the 67th player ejection of 2015. Prior to ejection, Sanchez's line was 0.2 IP, ER.
This is the Blue Jays' 7-9th ejection of 2015, 1st in the AL East (TOR 9; BOS 8; BAL, NYY 4; TB 3).
This is John Gibbons' 4th ejection of 2015, 1st sinceJuly 2 (Gerry Davis; QOC = U [Replay Review]).
This is Aaron Sanchez's first career MLB ejection.
This is DeMarlo Hale's 2nd ejection of 2015, 1st sinceJune 19 (CB Bucknor; QOC = U [Throwing At]).
This is Jim Wolf's first ejection sinceJuly 25, 2011 (Jim Leyland; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap:Kansas City Royals vs. Toronto Blue Jays, 8/2/15
Video:Volquez buzzes Donaldson in the 3rd inning, drawing a brief argument from the Blue Jays (TOR)
Video:Madson plunks Tulo with one out and one on in the 7th prompting objection, but no ejection (TOR)
Video:Donaldson takes some chin music, much to the chagrin of skipper Gibbons, who gets tossed (TOR)
Video:Benches clear after Sanchez drills Escobar, and the previously-ejected Gibbons reappears (TOR)

Saturday, September 27, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Reviews 1264-1271: Sept 27, 2014

September 27, 2014 featured the following MLB Instant Replay Review decisions:

TypeR#PosUmpireRU#TeamRT#NameInnPreResult
r1264HPJoyce, Jim6CIN35Bryan Price1OutStands
r1265HPWolf, Jim14TOR57John Gibbons7OutOverturned
r1266HPBucknor, CB18PHI39Ryne Sandberg4OutConfirmed
R12672BConroy, Chris17KC36Ned Yost1SafeStands
R12682BWelke, Bill17OAK42Bob Melvin3SafeOverturned
R1269HPHoye, James14TEX50Tim Bogar8SafeConfirmed
R12701BBaker, Jordan13STL40Mike Matheny2SafeStands
R12712BFairchild, Chad9LAA48Mike Scioscia2SafeOverturned

MLB Instant Replay Review Videos (MLB Advanced Media):
Video 1264:PIT@CIN: Out call stands, no violation of Rule 7.13 PU Joyce
Video 1265:BAL@TOR: Out call overturned at plate in the 7th PU Wolf
Video 1266:ATL@PHI: Out call at the plate reviewed in the 4th, confirmed PU Bucknor
Video 1267:KC@CWS: Safe call stands in the 1st inning U2 Conroy
Video 1268:OAK@TEX: Safe call overturned in the 3rd inning U2 Welke, B
Video 1269:OAK@TEX: Safe call confirmed at home in 8th inning PU Hoye
Video 1270:STL@ARI: Safe call at first stands in the 2nd inning U1 Baker
Video 1271:LAA@SEA: Safe call overturned in the 2nd U2 Fairchild

Sunday, September 21, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Reviews 1216-1223: Sept 21, 2014

September 21, 2014 featured the following MLB Instant Replay Review decisions:

TypeR#PosUmpireRU#TeamRT#NameInnPreResult
R12161BBarrett, Lance20BOS43John Farrell7SafeStands
R12171BBlaser, Cory15TB58Joe Maddon6OutOverturned
R12181BBlaser, Cory16TB59Joe Maddon9OutConfirmed
R12192BO'Nora, Brian13HOU38Tom Lawless6OutStands
R12201BGibson, Greg16CHC61Rick Renteria3SafeOverturned
R12211BWolf, Jim13TEX47Tim Bogar8SafeOverturned
R12221BMiller, Bill14ARI42Kirk Gibson6OutStands
R12231BWelke, Tim17CIN33Bryan Price3SafeOverturned

MLB Instant Replay Review Videos (MLB Advanced Media):
Video 1216:BOS@BAL: Joseph safe as call stands in the 7th
Video 1217:CWS@TB: Myers safe at first after challenge in 6th
Video 1218:CWS@TB: Rodriguez confirmed out at first in 9th
Video 1219:SEA@HOU: Altuve caught stealing as call stands in 6th
Video 1220:LAD@CHC: Ramirez out at first after challenge in 3rd
Video 1221:TEX@LAA: Pujols out at first after challenge in 8th
Video 1222:ARI@COL: Pollock out as call stands in the 6th
Video 1223:CIN@STL: Safe call overturned after challenge in 3rd

[8]ページ先頭

©2009-2025 Movatter.jp